• Matt Haycox Daily
  • Posts
  • šŸ“» How a podcast could be the answer to your networking problems, Tips from my team, and more!

šŸ“» How a podcast could be the answer to your networking problems, Tips from my team, and more!

Today I am going to give you an easy and fun way to massively grow your network whilst growing your personal brand at the same time.

Thatā€™s me!

Welcome to your Friday morning dose of everything that matters in the world of business, finance, entrepreneurship and my life! If you want ā€˜agenda freeā€™ news, top tips, tried and tested strategies and a bit of my banter, then youā€™re in the right place!

This week youā€™ll find:

šŸ¤”Ā MATTā€™S CHATā€™S:Ā How a podcast is the ultimate networking tool, and why you should have one too.

šŸ“ˆĀ SEXY STAT:Ā What the Queen of Pink can teach us about marketing. (That's Barbie, not me!)

šŸ—žļøĀ NEWS ROUND-UP:Ā All the latest business news fresh from the Matt Haycox Daily 30.website including Twitterā€™s rebrand, Kim Kardashianā€™s billions, new consumer regulations coming in to force and more.

šŸŽ™ļøPODCAST:Ā This week on The Matt Haycox Show, I interviews tabloid regular Kerry Katona. From phone hacking to marrying her mum's drug dealer, to Only Fans and more!

šŸ—£ļø TEAM TALKS:Ā Members of my team share their top tips, tricks and hacks to increase your efficiency and grow your business.

šŸ”¦Ā SPOTLIGHT:Ā Shining a light on someone you need to know about. Influencers, mentors and inspiring individuals.

šŸ“øĀ THE BIG PICTURE: A picture that is definitely worth more than 1000 words.

šŸ•ŗĀ SOMETHING SOCIAL: A quick link to my social media. This week we are going back in time!

šŸ¤Ā SHARING IS CARING:Ā Tell your friends and I will be your friend! Oh, and there are rewards in it too.

šŸ§ā€ā™€ļø THE LAST WORD:Ā One last thing before I goā€¦..

Want more Matt?Ā Matt Haycox Daily is now available as a podcast. From getting this Friday newsletter in audio form, to hearing quick daily tips or the latest news stories, make sure you check it out and subscribe. (PS. It's a different podcast to The Matt Haycox Show so make sure you have both!)

šŸ¤”MATTā€™S CHATā€™S

I am writing to you from Spain this week, where I am settled in for the next few weeks dodging the Dubai sun. (First world problems!)

I was in the UK earlier this month where I recorded a batch of new podcasts that will be released over the coming months. Last week saw the release of my Tom Skinner interview and this week is Kerry Katona, who you can read more about down below in the podcast section.

People often ask me why I have my podcast. What the reasoning behind it is. What the benefits are.

Becoming a podcast host was never part of my original game plan, and I actually fell in to it completely by accident around 5 years ago now. But I can tell you that having a podcast is one of the best networking tools available to you, and I thoroughly recommend that EVERYBODY has their own podcast!Ā 

Read on to find out whyā€¦ā€¦..

I didnā€™t really start creating content of any kind until late 2018. I had regularly worked with PR companies over the years to get stories in to the media, grow my profile and manage my reputation. But I had never really done anything on social media other than post a few pictures of my lunch. (I didnā€™t have a dog to show off!)

My PR agency at the time had been pushing me to start creating some social content for a while, things that could showcase my expertise, but like most people I found excuses not to do it because I was worried about being trolled online.

After avoiding it for about 18 months I finally gave in and made my first piece of content. I remember it like it was yesterday! I was in Miami for a 3 day Grant Cardone Business Bootcamp and went for a walk down the beach on the first morning to record a selfie style video of my talking about where I was and the importance of getting out of the office to opportunities like this to grow your mind, expand your knowledge and make new connections.

I re-recorded it about 26 times. I got a version I was ā€˜happyā€™ with. I gritted my teeth, posted it and ā€¦ā€¦ā€¦

Nothing! Barely even a like, no comments, but certainly no trolling!

I was relieved obviously but also realised it wasnā€™t that bad after all and I had totally unnecessarily delayed my start date by 18 months. (I tried to find the video to share with you but I think I have deleted it! But I found another one I recorded on that same day after the event. Read to the end of the newsletter and you will find it! But donā€™t be mean!)

So thatā€™s when I went all in. Making content for Instagram, Facebook, Twitter - TikTok wasnā€™t really a thing back then - and also launching a YouTube channel where we then used the audio to create a podcast on Apple, Spotify and all other podcast hosts.

I didnā€™t start with a plan, I just started making content because I knew that having a presence on multiple social platforms and podcast networks would take care of my personal brand on most of the 1st page of Google.

My early podcast interviews were horrible! I canā€™t even watch them back! Back then I used to work off an identical set of around 20 questions for each guests, and even I got bored asking everyone the same things every time!

The first big turning point for me was when I interviewed Levi Roots, probably the biggest success story from the Dragonā€™s Den. I was sat there the night before the interview thinking to myself ā€˜Why the fuck do I want to ask Levi these boring questions that I ask every guest?Ā I have got so many things I would love to know the answers toā€™. And there and then I made the decision to change the format and ask the questions I wanted to know the answers to, because I knew my audience would want to know them too.

I can hear you asking ā€˜Lovely story Matt, but you told me you would tell us why we needed to have our own podcast and why it would benefit us. Come on!ā€™

Well, 5 years later I have interviewed over 250 guests. I have met some of the world's biggest CEOā€™s, best-known celebrities, and most inspiring individuals, and been able to ask world experts questionsĀ that I needed the answers to.

Are you with me yet?ā€¦..It is the podcast that has allowed me to do this!Ā 

Having a podcast is like being the host of your own TV show. It gives you a framing and perception that you just donā€™t have without it.

Can you imagine calling up someone you donā€™t know (especially an uber-successful person or celebrity) and saying ā€˜Hey lets go for lunch and let me ask you a few questionsā€™?! If you are lucky they wonā€™t call the police! But you certainly arenā€™t getting to meet them.

Now imagine they receive this call instead ā€˜Heyā€¦ā€¦ I am calling on behalf of The Matt Haycox Show podcast to ask if we could host you for an interview. The show has been downloaded over 1 million times and goes our all over social media and to our subscriber database. We would love the chance for you to share your message and promote whatever is important to you.ā€™

Slightly different right?

Obviously, once you meet your guests it is down to you to build a relationship and make a long-term connection out of them - but I am an expert at that and if you are back here next week at the same time I will teach you how to do it too!

As well as your podcast giving you the chance to meet great guests, it is also a chance for you to showcase yourself to potential business partners and customers.

If you promote your podcast in the right way it should rank highly when people Google you. So when someone who doesnā€™t know me is looking to do business with me and they search me to find I am sat down talking to well known CEOs, members of the Royal Family, their favourite musicians and more, think how powerful that is in positioning me before I even walk in the room or pick up the phone?

So if you were planning on asking me why I have a podcast, hopefully you will now be asking yourself why you havenā€™t got one! Because you are missing out on great opportunities!

If this is resonating with you and you are ready to make the leap yourself then reply to this email to tell me, andĀ I will put together a guide for you of all my top tips on how to launch and promote your podcast.

I hope you enjoy this weekā€™s newsletter. Thanks to everyone who filled in the survey form yesterday. The winners are announced at the bottom of this email.

šŸ“ˆĀ SEXY STAT:

$150 Million

The size of the marketing budget for the Barbie movie

$150 million spent on marketing for a movie that 'only' cost $145 million to make. The perfect example that THE BEST KNOWN PRODUCT BEATS THE BEST PRODUCT EVERY TIME.

If nobody knows you then nobody will do business with you. It applies to your product, your business and your personal brand.

Are you investing enough in marketing? Got any great marketing stories we need to hear? Drop us a line!

šŸ—žļø NEWS ROUND-UP:

šŸŽ™ļøPODCAST:

ā€œWe are all victims of victims. Itā€™s how we deal with it that makes us who we areā€
Kerry Katona

Every week I sit down on my podcast The Matt Haycox Show to chat with inspirational and exciting guests who have a story to tell. And this week certainly doesnā€™t disappoint with the stories!

Love her or hate her, there arenā€™t many people who donā€™t know or have a view on tabloid queen Kerry Katona. Whether you know her from her days in one of the UKā€™s biggest girl bands, her multiple relationships to some interesting choices in men, her unstoppable mouth in the press, or her recent move on to Only Fans, undoubtedly you know her and have an opinion.

So can this latest podcast help change your views?!

Incredibly outspoken, with zero filter, Kerry holds nothing back as she talks about:

ā„ļø Taking her first drug with her mum at 14 years old. ā€˜She told me it was sherbet!ā€™

šŸŽ¤ Joining open of the UKā€™s biggest girl bands and quitting days before they hit the big time.

šŸ‘Øā€šŸ‘©ā€šŸ‘§ā€šŸ‘¦ Her multiple relationships and questionable choices in men. ā€˜So I married my mumā€™s drug dealer!ā€™

šŸ“°Ā Her abuse at the hands of the national press.

šŸ’µ Her recent success on Only Fans. ā€˜No, you canā€™t have a discount Matt!ā€™

And much much more!

Kerry might not be your immediate choice for a business podcast, but there are many lessons and takeaways from a lady who has lived a dozen lifetimes in the last 30-plus years. You will be shocked and you will certainly be entertained, so click here to listen now!

If you havenā€™t subscribed yet then please do and leave a 5* review. The better your reviews the better the future guests. Win : Win!

šŸ—£ļøTEAM TALKS:

I have some great people on my team, full of ideas, energy and entrepreneurial spirit. (I also HAD someone who thought it was appropriate to take a nap at 11am during the working day too, but thatā€™s a story for another week!)

This week Malika, Minty, Alex and Grace share some news they have found, tips they have got, and apps they use that can save you time, grow your business or help you show off to your boss. šŸ˜Ž

  • CHATGPT 4 PLUG INS:Ā We are loving the Link Reader extension. It's great for comparing content, getting a quick precis of crucial information fast and is really helping to speed up the content creation process.

  • EXPLODING TOPICS:Ā Exploding topics trend-spotting algorithm identifies under the radar industries, products, and categoriesā€¦ months or years before they take off.

  • SHOPIFY AND ROKU:Ā partnering up to let viewers buy products from their TV with one click of their remote. After seeing an ad for a Shopify retailer, Roku viewers can press ā€œOKā€ on their remote to learn more about the product and purchase it directly from their TV with pre-stored payment and shipping info.

  • WIX:Ā Wix's AI Site Generator, powered by ChatGPT, can generate a complete website, including text, images, and a unique site design in a matter of seconds after receiving basic prompt inputs from the user.

  • TIKTOK:Ā is now letting users post written content as a way to give ā€œthe written creativity we've seen in comments, captions, and videos a dedicated space to shine.ā€

  • AI:Ā Top tech companies, including OpenAI, Alphabet, Meta, and Amazon, pledged to develop an AI-generated content watermarking system with the White House.

Ā šŸ”¦SPOTLIGHT:

What better way to use my Newsletter than to showcase talented individuals to my 5069 subscribers (73 more than last week). It could be authors I read, influencers I follow, even subscribers who should get a shout out. But this week it is someone from within my group - Cristina Lavinia, In-store Sales Assistant @ Accent Clothing. Here, in her owns words, she tells us the genesis of her jewellery business and her motto for success.

Cristina Lavinia

ā€œIt all began in 2019 when I stumbled upon a YouTube tutorial on crafting bracelets with semi-precious stones. I loved the idea, so I ordered the materials and opened my Etsy shop. Just five days later, I made my first sale and felt overjoyed. Continuing to create and sell bracelets, I realised this brought me immense happiness and decided to take it further. I learned about branding, marketing, customer service, social media, and photography, and in 2020, DONLON was born.
Running a jewellery business involves paperwork, sales tracking, and inventory management, demanding excellent time management and self-discipline. Seeing my creations come to life and being worn by others fills me with pride and fulfilment. I'm incredibly grateful to my customers, new and returning, for their support and recommendations.
In a crowded marketplace, I focus on crafting unique, high-quality, and affordable minimalist jewellery inspired by nature and people. Using metals like stainless steel, brass, and copper, as well as natural stones and cultured pearls, I've expanded my collection to over 100 styles, shipping parcels worldwide.ā€

ā

Do whatever you can, where you are, with what you have

Cristina Lavinia

Ā šŸ“øTHE BIG PICTURE:

A blank piece of paper that tells you all you need to know. This is all on you. No owes you. No one is here to wipe your arse for you. Get yourself out of bed and do the fucking work. Itā€™s that simple. Your future success in in your hands alone.

Ā šŸ“±SOMETHING SOCIAL:

As promised, I am rewinding the clock to my first post dishing out business advice on social media in October 2018. The hair has changed, the face is slimmer, the botox is working, but the advice in this post still remains true today! Referrals are one of your best sources of business and introductions - and SO EASY to get. Click on the post to watch me in action 5 years ago, and make sure you are following me on Instagram whilst your are at it!

Ā šŸ¤SHARING IS CARING:

TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND GET REWARDED! šŸ’° šŸ›„

When I love something I always share it with my friends! And if you do too then this newsletter has got you covered! Share it with your mates and wider connections and get access to exciting rewards. Even though our full reward programme is still in the works, any referrals you make now count towards it. Plus, one of the rewards is a weekend in Dubai with me for an incredible business immersion experience and yacht dinner. Spread the word and join us in Dubai!

(PS my current biggest refer is STILL Elena, can you beat her?! She does have 108 cousins though so plenty of people to go at!)

Ā šŸ§ā€ā™€ļøTHE LAST WORD:

Everyone loves a little competition and this week I was asking for your help to update your preferences in our system in return for the chance to win a Ā£500 clothing voucher for Accent or Larizia, and a 30 minute private coaching session with me.

Big thanks to the 49 of you that filled out the form, it really helps me to make this newsletter better each week.

And I am pleased to announce our winners!

Jenny Hammerton - you have won a 30 minute session with me.

Caroline Green - you have won a Ā£500 clothing voucher.

If you both drop me an email I will arrange your prizes for you.

So thatā€™s it for this week. Have a great weekend, maybe use it to plan launching that podcast you now know you need! And donā€™t forget, YOUR FUTURE SUCCESS IS IN YOUR HANDS ALONE!

90